Changing rear springs (Van has possibly been lowered)

Big lumps of metals and spanners.

Moderators: User administrators, Moderators

Peepshow Paddy

Changing rear springs (Van has possibly been lowered)

Post by Peepshow Paddy »

Hi there,

So the rear springs on my van are both cracked and need replacing – I’ve heard this is a pretty straightforward job, so have bought replacement springs and was hoping to do it one evening this week. However I’ve never done it before, am not especially confident with this sort of thing, and I think the van may have been lowered in the past and I’m guessing this would need the springs to be adjusted.

Please either re-assure me that it’s a job I can do (in the street, in the dark) and if you have any tips, please pass them on, or tell me to go to a proper mechanic if there’s any chance I could really balls this up!

Thanks,

Paddy

Titus A Duxass
80-90 Mem No: 4475

Re: Changing rear springs (Van has possibly been lowered)

Post by Titus A Duxass »

Take a look in the Wiki - http://wiki.club8090.co.uk/index.php/St ... on_springs" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
VW T3 GTi Camper 2,0l

Peepshow Paddy

Post by Peepshow Paddy »

Thanks very much, and apologies - I did look through the wiki, evidently not hard enough. I'll have a proper look at that later on. Thanks again,

paddy

Peepshow Paddy

Post by Peepshow Paddy »

Ok, I did look at that then after all, sounds easy, I've never seen these things but will have a buthers later on. I might need a bit more handholding - but no worries, I should be able to get some help if needs be! 8-)

Thanks again,

Paddy

Titus A Duxass
80-90 Mem No: 4475

Post by Titus A Duxass »

There's an article on the Brick-yard about lowering, it has some good info that you may find useful - http://www.brick-yard.co.uk/VehicleSpec ... wering.htm" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
VW T3 GTi Camper 2,0l

Peepshow Paddy

Post by Peepshow Paddy »