Removing/refitting fuel pump on jx

Big lumps of metals and spanners. Including servicing and fluids.

Moderators: User administrators, Moderators

Bryce
80-90 Mem No: 17419

Removing/refitting fuel pump on jx

Post by Bryce »

So the time has come to get my fuel pump refurbed. I've never done anything like this before but have been given some good guides to follow and a few service manuals.

Was wondering if anyone has any good hints or tips to make the job easier/ anything I need to watch out for?

Since I have no history on the glow plugs or timing belt I thought I might as well change them while I'm there and get the injectors tested. Also got a replacement fuel filter to go on.

I know this will fill noone with confidence but my first question is do I have to drain the fuel tank to do all this?
1987 1.6td hightop

Timburrows
80-90 Mem No: 14187

Re: Removing/refitting fuel pump on jx

Post by Timburrows »

Be careful not to loose the small moon key when you remove the front sprocket off the pump,cleanliness is very important and take a picture before you start for reference and the banjo pipe bolts and different,the outlet has a restrictor in it

colinthefox
80-90 Mem No: 16447

Post by colinthefox »

Bryce wrote: 12 Feb 2022, 18:15 Was wondering if anyone has any good hints or tips to make the job easier/ anything I need to watch out for?
My top tip..........set everything at TDC no.1 cylinder firing before taking anything off, and don't move anything before you refit. Mark positions of cam, crank and pump pulleys with Tippex against similar marks on the engine in case you move anything. Take photos. Saves a load of time when refitting.
Bryce wrote: 12 Feb 2022, 18:15 Do I have to drain the fuel tank to do all this?

No, but cover the ends of the fuel lines to stop dirt getting in.
1.9D (AEF) pop-top. Aaaaahhhhh........that's better.

Bryce

Post by Bryce »

OK I'm completely out my depth here :oops: but I've got to learn somehow.