Aerial Rust..

Thin bits of metal and bright blue light.

Moderators: User administrators, Moderators

weimarbus
Posts: 609
Joined: 19 Jun 2010, 12:53
80-90 Mem No: 10165
Location: coulsdon

Re: Aerial Rust..

Post by weimarbus »

metalmick8y wrote:nah , use the jk plaggy one, ive bought most out there , stainless oe supposedly and others and they rust in months etc, i will live to be proved wrong though
mm
Thats why I went for the aerial in my previous post, my last 'OE stainless' one had the mast fall off in the night after only 3 years. Hopefully the new one will last longer it does look more up to job although not as elegant.
1985 hi-top 2.1MV with DG carb and LPG
1955 trials buggy with 1.9 DG high lift cam and twin dell's (now sold)
1972 1303 beetle
1992 Audi 100 2.8 quattro estate

dooooogle
Posts: 9
Joined: 23 Mar 2010, 22:57
80-90 Mem No: 8080
Location: Bristol

Re: Aerial Rust..

Post by dooooogle »

Finished job. Several coats of Krust, primer and lots of sanding and re-priming and sanding later... when will the rust return. This is the JK aerial. The aerial is a tad loose in the 2nd mounting further up the windscreen. Will take it out tomorrow and see if it rattles. Top tip for dropping the fuse box. Access to the wiring is much easier.

[img]
20140714_134315.jpg
[/img]
I potter along at 60 remembering to fill up every 250 miles

Plasticman
Trader
Posts: 8081
Joined: 12 Oct 2005, 20:55
80-90 Mem No: 1948
Location: lincolnshire

Re: Aerial Rust..

Post by Plasticman »

that looks finbe, ive used a bit of heatshrink tube where it goes through the upper if loose
mm

dooooogle
Posts: 9
Joined: 23 Mar 2010, 22:57
80-90 Mem No: 8080
Location: Bristol

Re: Aerial Rust..

Post by dooooogle »

Oh dear. Come to put fuse box back and noticed a little yellow cable is not connected (quite a short cable only just reaches fuse box). Check out the electrical forum for that post....

Still gives me something to do
I potter along at 60 remembering to fill up every 250 miles

Locked