Aerial Rust..

Thin bits of metal and bright blue light.

Moderators: Moderators, User administrators

dooooogle
Posts: 9
Joined: 23 Mar 2010, 22:57
80-90 Mem No: 8080
Location: Bristol

Aerial Rust..

Post by dooooogle »

Have some rust around the base of my aerial that needs attention. Aerial is a single mount version. The screw head in the aerial has rusted and rounded so getting it out will be difficult.

If I have to drill the damn thing out, will I be able to remove it the aerial or is there likely to be another bolt or screw connecting it to the body (acting as an earth). If so how exactly do I get to it?... am I likely to end up taking the dashboard off to get to it?

Its an Autohomes Kamper.

20140706_185709.jpg
I potter along at 60 remembering to fill up every 250 miles

User avatar
jamesc76
Posts: 6241
Joined: 14 Oct 2005, 14:42
80-90 Mem No: 1186
Location: Nottingham
Contact:

Re: Aerial Rust..

Post by jamesc76 »

thats aftermarket not original vw. Drill the head of the screw and pull the aerial over whats left of the screw. looks like youll have to cut out the rust and weld in fresh steel!
DJ at Dubdayz Summerfest
Now cutting about in an LT35 MWB

Plasticman
Trader
Posts: 8075
Joined: 12 Oct 2005, 20:55
80-90 Mem No: 1948
Location: lincolnshire

Re: Aerial Rust..

Post by Plasticman »

aye^^^^
thaat will have a stay-mount up the pillar ?
ive used the black jk ones and they were suprisingly good for the price, clean your hole up first though :lol:
mm

dooooogle
Posts: 9
Joined: 23 Mar 2010, 22:57
80-90 Mem No: 8080
Location: Bristol

Re: Aerial Rust..

Post by dooooogle »

I need to look upwards more. Yes there is stay further up. Im a dumb as !

Was rather hoping that this week I could just dress the rust back, krust treat, etch and paint etc (assuming that the rust is not that thin it holes). My welding belongs out of sight under the van, not on the front :oops: Might be a trip to a man with better skills than me. (Bristol based)

How do you feed the aerial wire from the aerial to the radio? Is there access into the A pillar behind the dash / glove box area.
I potter along at 60 remembering to fill up every 250 miles

Plasticman
Trader
Posts: 8075
Joined: 12 Oct 2005, 20:55
80-90 Mem No: 1948
Location: lincolnshire

Re: Aerial Rust..

Post by Plasticman »

splice it to the old and use that to pull it through. you may be lucky and scarape the rust etc
mm

User avatar
ninja.turtle007
Posts: 2234
Joined: 04 Jun 2009, 16:07
80-90 Mem No: 7278
Location: Surrey

Re: Aerial Rust..

Post by ninja.turtle007 »

Sorry to hijack. On another Syncro I had the aerial was fixed at the mounting and followed the pillar but was flexible. Any idea of where I can find one?
Full time Explorer http://www.resfeber.co.uk

Plasticman
Trader
Posts: 8075
Joined: 12 Oct 2005, 20:55
80-90 Mem No: 1948
Location: lincolnshire

Re: Aerial Rust..

Post by Plasticman »

sort of thin wire bendy thing ?

User avatar
ninja.turtle007
Posts: 2234
Joined: 04 Jun 2009, 16:07
80-90 Mem No: 7278
Location: Surrey

Re: Aerial Rust..

Post by ninja.turtle007 »

metalmick8y wrote:sort of thin wire bendy thing ?

Yep.
Full time Explorer http://www.resfeber.co.uk

Plasticman
Trader
Posts: 8075
Joined: 12 Oct 2005, 20:55
80-90 Mem No: 1948
Location: lincolnshire

Re: Aerial Rust..

Post by Plasticman »

I may just have one but wont get to see till tomoz aft
mm

User avatar
ninja.turtle007
Posts: 2234
Joined: 04 Jun 2009, 16:07
80-90 Mem No: 7278
Location: Surrey

Re: Aerial Rust..

Post by ninja.turtle007 »

metalmick8y wrote:I may just have one but wont get to see till tomoz aft
mm

If you do, please out it to one side. I'm bored of having to stretch out of the window to collapse the aerial before heading into the undergrowth!
Full time Explorer http://www.resfeber.co.uk

Plasticman
Trader
Posts: 8075
Joined: 12 Oct 2005, 20:55
80-90 Mem No: 1948
Location: lincolnshire

Re: Aerial Rust..

Post by Plasticman »

Hehe

weimarbus
Posts: 599
Joined: 19 Jun 2010, 12:53
80-90 Mem No: 10165
Location: coulsdon

Re: Aerial Rust..

Post by weimarbus »

You may find that the body is rusty enough for the screw to just pull out, if it is and you have 'hole creep' then the halfords front roof aerial is quite good as it has a bigger 'footprint' just done this to mine although fortunatly mine wasn't rotten, you can use the top stay by drilling the aerial hole to 7.5 mm, access is good if you unscrew and lower the fuse box.
1985 hi-top 2.1MV with DG carb and LPG
1955 trials buggy with 1.9 DG high lift cam and twin dell's

weimarbus
Posts: 599
Joined: 19 Jun 2010, 12:53
80-90 Mem No: 10165
Location: coulsdon

Re: Aerial Rust..

Post by weimarbus »

now with picImage
1985 hi-top 2.1MV with DG carb and LPG
1955 trials buggy with 1.9 DG high lift cam and twin dell's

dooooogle
Posts: 9
Joined: 23 Mar 2010, 22:57
80-90 Mem No: 8080
Location: Bristol

Re: Aerial Rust..

Post by dooooogle »

You guys are the best.

Removed the old aerial and drilled screw out. Rust flaking off all over the place and clearly thin in one spot as a tiny hole appeared. (This is just inside of the footprint of the new aerial)

Temporary fix plan is to fit new aerial and seal in place with tigerseal around the base to prevent water getting in.... long term fix is find someone who can do decent welding to restore surface.

Access for aerial wiring is so much easier with the glove box and fuse box removed. Thank you for the tip.

n.b. I purchase the JK aerial, its.... well lets say its more like plastic, not metal. Does anyone have a recommendation for a better quality standard?

[img]
20140710_205514.jpg
[/img]
I potter along at 60 remembering to fill up every 250 miles

Plasticman
Trader
Posts: 8075
Joined: 12 Oct 2005, 20:55
80-90 Mem No: 1948
Location: lincolnshire

Re: Aerial Rust..

Post by Plasticman »

nah , use the jk plaggy one, ive bought most out there , stainless oe supposedly and others and they rust in months etc, i will live to be proved wrong though
mm

Locked