Start-up problems after sitting idle

Big lumps of metals and spanners. Including servicing and fluids.

Moderators: User administrators, Moderators

TheGreenVan
80-90 Mem No: 0

Start-up problems after sitting idle

Post by TheGreenVan »

Hello! I've recently bought a 1982 VW T3 that has some ignition problems. I'm very new to owning a van or car in general, so I'm trying to learn -- very happy for any help or guidance.

My 1982 VW T3 2.0L air-cooled doesn't start after it's not been used for a week or so. It tries and putters but doesn't quite get there. Spraying starter fluid into the air filter solves it, so from what I understand it's a carburetor/fuel pump (?) problem.

My question is how to go about solving it. I could of course just take it around the block once every week, but I'd like to fix the problem and it seems like a good starter project to learn about the engine. The engine is overall in very good shape and the following has been replaced recently (according to the seller, so you could never be completely sure):
  • Spark plugs
  • Ignition harness/wire set
  • Ignition head and rotor
  • Air filter
  • Fuel filter
  • Hydraulic lifters/tappets
  • Carburetor cleaning and adjustment
Other potentially useful information: The exhaust sputters a decent amount when going downhill in gear (small explosions, basically). After longer drives there is a strong fuel/fumes smell around the engine. There is a small oil leak (but as far as I can tell that's standard in all these vans).

So main questions; how do I go about fixing/replacing this and how?
Very much appreciate any advice for this newbie learning all of this for the first time.

Rosie n' Jim

Re: Start-up problems after sitting idle

Post by Rosie n' Jim »