Aircooled running issues

Big lumps of metals and spanners. Including servicing and fluids.

Moderators: User administrators, Moderators

DavidHoldsworthVilla
80-90 Mem No: 0

Aircooled running issues

Post by DavidHoldsworthVilla »

Hi all,

I’ve recently inherited a Holdsworth Villa 1, 2.0 Aircooled.

It’s been stood for a while but with a fresh battery and fuel I’ve managed to get it started (eventually) it’ll start and tick over but when I try and move it it’ll cut out and won’t start again for half an hour or longer.

I’ve changed the fuel filter but before I throw anymore money at it I was wondering if anyone had any ideas what’s causing this? I’m guessing it’s a fuel/air mix issue?

I’ve zero experience with these engines so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Apologies if this topic has already been covered.

Thanks

Rosie n' Jim

Re: Aircooled running issues

Post by Rosie n' Jim »

I don't know if 'a while' is months or years, but assuming it's had fuel with ethanol added, and fuel pipes that have had little attention,  that would be a good starting point.
Rubber fuel hose can break up and block jets and the float bowl valve. The fuel pump could also suffer damage if it's the original mechanical one.
To be safe fit a new pipe and filter after running some fuel through the tank to purge it. Brickwerks does a pipe kit that runs from tank to original pump. They also sell pipe and a 'T' piece that will feed the carbs. 
This should give a good clean fuel feed to the carbs,  but they are likely to also need a good clean. No special tools required, just patience! 
Both my vans suffered this way to start with. It's a job that needs completing in one go or you will find the issue re-occurs over and over.
​​​​​

1982 Holdsworth poptop. 2L CU Aircooled.
1982 Danbury tintop Caravelle. 2L CU Aircooled.

Stesaw
80-90 Mem No: 17004

Post by Stesaw »