Fuel gauge not working

An alchemy of sparks, copper wire and earth

Moderators: User administrators, Moderators

Kev.i.n
80-90 Mem No: 0

Fuel gauge not working

Post by Kev.i.n »

Hi all, I'm a newbie to the VW t25 life, just purchased Betsy our 1982 air-cooled 2ltr petrol Devon Moonraker! In love with her so far as are the kids!

Unfortunately she's came with a few problems, I'd like to try my hand at repairing her. In all honesty I've never attempted anything mechanical. I'm an electrician by trade so pretty handy, also have auto electrician friend and a camper van mechanic for a neighbour. I'd like to try my hand first.

Fuel gauge shows empty regardless of how much fuel is in her. I'd appreciate any suggestions on where to start. I'm assuming there's a sender/sensor in tank and relay/regulator on dash?

Cabin blow heater not working at all. Faint smell of exhaust/petrol. I'm assuming a blow in the exhaust.

Also I'd like to be able to get her under the barriers at beach car parks (2.1m) as I'm an avid surfer, but the vent on roof makes her a tad too big. Any recommendations for most cost effective way to resolve this? New vent, lower or something I've not even thought of.

There are various other things, rattlings and clanking, engine cutting out when cold but I'll do them one thing at a time funds permitting. A rolling project so to speak.

I'd appreciate all help and honesty in regards to how difficult these repairs/works will be for a newbie.

Nice to meet you all!ImageImage

Sent from my Pixel 6 using Tapatalk

Mocki
Membership Admin
80-90 Mem No: 428

Re: Fuel gauge not working

Post by Mocki »

Hello and welcome
Last things first , you could remove the vent and replace it with a fixed Perspex cover if you dont want the opening option , that would be flat to the roof , seal with sikaflex……..