NA Subaru Engine Conversion...maybe??

for questions and answers about alternative power transplants on the T25, GTi, Porsche,Subaru etc, this is the place. You must register to post but anyone can read.

Moderators: User administrators, Moderators

mshaw1980
80-90 Mem No: 14800

NA Subaru Engine Conversion...maybe??

Post by mshaw1980 »

After looking at prices for parts to rebuild my 1.9 waterboxer I am actually wondering if I would be better off sticking a N/A subaru engine in. Can probably get one with all ancillaries for about £400-£500. Anyone else done this? If so, how difficult was it to do, bearing in mind that I am a competent mechanic.
Dont want a turbo, just a nice torquey and reliable engine.
1987 VW T25: Subaru EJ20 using RJES parts (If it was meant to go fast it wouldn't be brick shaped!)

zedd
80-90 Mem No: 12877

Re: NA Subaru Engine Conversion...maybe??

Post by zedd »

just done my Aircooled to 2.5 na subaru conversion it will cost you around £1500 if using rjes parts which i did including having the loom sorted plus the cost of the subaru , have been out in mine for the first time today & goes well glad i done it & i had rjes sort the loom out to keep the cruise control off the subaru which is handy

bruced
80-90 Mem No: 7300

Post by bruced »

Hi - Go for it!!!!. Did the same conversion as above using the RJES. All went in well and I am not a competent mechanic just took my time and followed the instructions /DVD sent out by Richard. I would try and buy a whole shell rather than just the lump as I can guarantee there will be something that your engine does not come with. Good luck
1983 Watercooled 1.9L Now (Now Subaru EJ25 transplant)
LeisureDrive HiTop

boardmonkey
80-90 Mem No: 6853

Post by boardmonkey »

Agreed with the above, price can vary depending on model, condition and extra work....buy a complete donor car to ensure you have all the bits....read up on RJES website.