problems with cooling system

for questions and answers about alternative power transplants on the T25, GTi, Porsche,Subaru etc, this is the place. You must register to post but anyone can read.

Moderators: User administrators, Moderators

feardana
80-90 Mem No: 11398

problems with cooling system

Post by feardana »

Hi, I'm a newbie in more ways than one but i'm keen to learn and i'll try not to be too thick/annoying in the process :)

we bought our bus a couple of months ago, 1985 2.0L diesel - it says it's a caravelle on an old engineers report we inherited but i'm not sure about that, (it also says leisuredrive/crusader on the hightop)

we took it to brittany for 10 days during the second half of july - anyways, everything went fine enough until towards the end of the trip when it woke us up at 2 in the morning because the radiator fan suddenly sparked into life making a racket on a very quite and otherwise family friendly campsite - the thing is the van had been sitting there with the engine off for several hours and i can only assume the engine was stone cold at that stage - the only thing i could think of outside of going thru all the fuses was to disconnect the battery which i did - when i reconnected the next day the fan started up again and it seems will run perpetually regardless of the temp of the engine so there was alot of messing around with the relevant fuse until we got it home.