Engine replacement - the bottom line...

Alternative power-plants and transplants (GTi, Porsche, Subaru, Audi, diesel etc). Discussion and Q&A last answered over 2 years ago.
You may also want to visit the Wiki(pedia) for a more structured index of T25 repair, maintenance, technical and ownership topics.

Moderators: User administrators, Moderators

purplechugster
80-90 Mem No: 0

Engine replacement - the bottom line...

Post by purplechugster »

I've got a 4-gear 1.6 deisel, and Ive been edging towards a replacement engine for a little while, and the only way is up :wink:

So am I right in saying putting a 1.9 turbo diesel (not injection) would be the simplest way to go? And would that make enough of a difference to the power to make it worthwhile?

Secondly, if I put in such a lump, do I need to change the gearbox at all? Or will it survive as is?

I'm no mechanic, so I want to be able to drive in, leave the van there, drive away with a new engine. So lastly - the bottom line - how long does such a conversion take and how much (roughly) will it cost me? :shock:

Ive read the intro into engine replacements - but is there anything else Ive forgotten or need to know?

Thanks for the help!
:D
One T25 in London, another one in Sydney.

MacWilliam
80-90 Mem No: 1871

Post by MacWilliam »

If you have a 1.6 N/A you will need to modify a few things when fitting an aaz lump. notably the engine support. But there is plenty of advice on that subject available if you use the search engine.

Going from a 1.6N/A to a 1.9 Td. Boy .....You will not recognize your van. I already am amazed at a 1.6 td to 1.9td conversion

The gear box will survive...... but there is a possibility that the gears will be too short. Better discuss this with someone in the know. Youd be better with a five gear or even better a long 4 gear box