westy fridge not working on electric hook-up

An alchemy of sparks, copper wire and earth

Moderators: User administrators, Moderators

Lefty
80-90 Mem No: 6342

westy fridge not working on electric hook-up

Post by Lefty »

Hi all,
Any ideas with this fridge problem anyone? The fridge works on gas and 12v, but not on electric hook-up. Is there a fuse or anything I should be looking at? I'm not very technically minded, so any help to point me in the right direction would be much appreciated.
Daren

Ralf85
80-90 Mem No: 4418
Location: West London - 1985 westie pop top, LHD, 1900 DF engine

Re: westy fridge not working on electric hook-up

Post by Ralf85 »

If your camper is a westie, you have a trip switch to the side of the rock & roll bed with a plug socket. If the blue button is sticking out and the black switches are down it has tripped. If it has, you first need to hook up (at home) press the blue button back in and then move the two black switches into the upright position.
Always press the blue button to trip the switch after first hooking up. This way you will know if power is coming from the mains power supply. If it doesn't trip the mains may have tripped and you need to tell the campsite staff, so they can re-set their trip switch.
I hope this helps.
Last edited by Ralf85 on 20 Jul 2014, 16:11, edited 1 time in total.

AdrianC
80-90 Mem No: 9144

Post by AdrianC »

Lefty wrote:Any ideas with this fridge problem anyone? The fridge works on gas and 12v, but not on electric hook-up. Is there a fuse or anything I should be looking at? I'm not very technically minded, so any help to point me in the right direction would be much appreciated.
Probably just needs a new element. Assuming, of course, the plug hasn't been knocked (in the cupboard under the sink).
A year and a half living in a Westy hightop... http://www.WhereverTheRoadGoes.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Lefty

Post by Lefty »