Wiring and Electrics info for Auto-Sleeper

An alchemy of sparks, copper wire and earth

Moderators: User administrators, Moderators

Shotage
80-90 Mem No: 0

Wiring and Electrics info for Auto-Sleeper

Post by Shotage »

Hi all.

I'm new here and I'm now the proud owner of an 1988 1.9 petrol T25 Auto-Sleeper :-)

I'm not good with electrics, but luckily I have relatives that are :-) But I was wondering if there is any books or information available on the electrics, fridge etc, for my T25 Auto-Sleeper?
I know there are different conversions and mine is the auto-sleeper, but also I gather there might be slight variations within that conversion. For example mine has the black and gold control panel.

So far I have no idea whether the electrics work properly...

1) I'm pretty sure the fridge works on battery whilst driving. But I can't get the gas to fire, the ignition light doesn't come on and the pilot light doesn't light.

2) I hooked the van up to electric but wasn't sure how to find out if it was working. I stupidly didn't have anything with a plug on to plug in to see if the power socket worked. None of the big lights seemed to work, but thought that could be bulbs or whatever. The normal interior/door lights did work fine.

3) I didn't see any lights on the control panel on. I saw the three lights for full charge, part charge and empty but none were illuminated.

I know this is not specific to it being a camper as such, but we also have the buzzer of doom. I'm hoping that some checking of wires, connectors or replacing the oil pressure switches might help!? Also the clock is not working and neither is the temperature gauge.

Sorry, I know there seems to be a lot of questions here, but I'm guessing I was hoping to find a resource that had information about the electrics and the conversion in general so we can look in to the issues above. But equally if you have any info or advice on the other specific things please feel free to jump in.