New battery, no alternator light and flashing temp gauge!

An alchemy of sparks, copper wire and earth

Moderators: User administrators, Moderators

Superdog
80-90 Mem No: 0

New battery, no alternator light and flashing temp gauge!

Post by Superdog »

Hi - we have a 1984 T25 1.6 Diesel engine with some electrical "issues" and I am a total newbie with little or no technical knowledge at all so please bear with me and excuse the possiblity of stupid questions.... I have been trawling various forums for days now, but it seems others have similar problems but not quite the same as our so decided to post our own tale of woe!
Scenario so far... old battery wouldn't hold its charge and was fizzing when battery charger was plugged in so bought new battery (60Ah 540CCA) - van stormed into life! Good start. Noticed the alternator light on dash didn't come on, but tested voltage/alternator output and all looked ok (battery 13.27V with engine off, with engine running, 14.48V) so figured the lack of alt light was the least of our worries. Yesterday the temp gauge light started flashing and continues to flash while driving. I'm sure it's not in any way a coolant problem as the needle doesn't actually move and about a year ago we almost blew the whole electrical system (when the alt belt had snapped but we motored on in blissful ignorance...! ) and there was warning lights of doom all over the show including the temp gauge light. Into the garage for the van & several hundred pounds later, all sorted and back on the road. I'm trying to avoid having to go back to the garage as I feel it MUST be something simple that we have done when we changed the battery over. The wiring is like spaghetti junction, but all looks to be connected where it should be. Any helpful hints or tips would be much appreciated as our trip to VW Festival on Friday may be in jepoardy!! Thanks all! :)

Mr Soft
80-90 Mem No: 5003

Re: New battery, no alternator light and flashing temp gauge!

Post by Mr Soft »