Green Luna Camper Project!

Thin bits of metal and bright blue light.

Moderators: User administrators, Moderators

pmoc_2001
80-90 Mem No: 9627

Green Luna Camper Project!

Post by pmoc_2001 »

Hello All,

Complete beginner here, who has just bought an old green camper from a neighbor. He upgraded to a Merc camper. The Van has been standing idle after new cyl head, exhaust etc....LHD 1.7D Luna conversion. It passed the Dutch version of MOT before I handed over cash. The neighbor just wanted back what he had paid to garage over last 12 months.

I have been digesting as much information from the various posts as possible regarding body work just to see if I am up to this challenge. To be honest I am a total beginner apart from a little stick welding at school 20 years ago. I really want to tackle this myself, however I am very worried that I am not up to it (others are laughing in my face also). As this as an introductory post I will simply post some pictures of the van and explain what I am going to try and tackle first.

1. Buy a welder
2. Buy a grinder - done
3. Buy disks fro the grinder
3. Buy some anti rust treatment for little spots of rust here and there.
4. Buy some Acid etch and epoxy primer
5. Buy some time

I've really fallen for the shape and the colour.

Probably lots of rust hidden under here.
Filler, fibreglass and rot
The worst part of the van and the bit that keeps me up at night!

People are actually telling me it's only worth scrapping because of the nasty rust on the N/S

I'll try and keep a log using this thread and update it when ever I get the chance.

pmoc
Last edited by pmoc_2001 on 19 May 2011, 19:28, edited 1 time in total.
1990 Volkswagen Type 2 (T3). Campervan conversion by Luna.
1.7 L (1,715 cc) (54 bhp) (Serial # KY)
Resoration photos http://forum.club8090.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=38&t=85759
LUNA-FREIZEITMOBILE GMBH: http://tinyurl.com/6mjerz8

lloydy
80-90 Mem No: 5262

Re: Total beginner just bought this from my neighbour!