Replacing gas struts

Thin bits of metal and bright blue light.

Moderators: User administrators, Moderators

hammondboy
80-90 Mem No: 11839

Replacing gas struts

Post by hammondboy »

I've recently put a Fiamma bike rack on the back of Hugo only to find that with the extra weight the tailgate won't stay up.
So I ordered some 800nm gas struts as advised in another post, which are stronger and should take the weight.
I thought it would just be a case of undoing a couple of bolts to replace them, but looking at it it's not obvious how it's done (I'm a bit of a novice.. be kind)
Any advice would be gratefully received.
Cheers.

New Kentish Campers
80-90 Mem No: 8994

Re: Replacing gas struts

Post by New Kentish Campers »

It's been a while since I last took mine off but if I remember, then you need to carefully remove the u shaped clip and then the end of the strut can be pulled off from the male bolt that's on the bodywork. Dont loose the clip when it pings off! :roll:

hammondboy

Post by hammondboy »

Many thanks. And putting the new one on I guess is the same in reverse? So do the body end first then the tailgate end?

New Kentish Campers
80-90 Mem No: 8994

Post by New Kentish Campers »

Yes, that's it. Doesn't matter in what order you do it, but I'd make sure the TG is well supported or it might well land on you nut and its very heavy ... :shock:

Fudgy666
80-90 Mem No: 13188

Post by Fudgy666 »

hammondboy wrote:I've recently put a Fiamma bike rack on the back of Hugo only to find that with the extra weight the tailgate won't stay up.
So I ordered some 800nm gas struts as advised in another post, which are stronger and should take the weight.

I too have just brought a Fiamma bike rack off of Fleabay and hadn't even thought about the extra weight it would add to the tailgate ?

Where did you get your strutts from and what sort of price range are they in ? I'm guessing I'll be shelling out for some new ones too :ok