what's wrong with my engine? 1.9 DG, Manual

Big lumps of metals and spanners.

Moderators: User administrators, Moderators

Gavla80
80-90 Mem No: 13567

what's wrong with my engine? 1.9 DG, Manual

Post by Gavla80 »

Hi, I need some help please!

I've got a problem with my engine and I'm keen to try and fix it myself using advice from this forum (and the wiki/tech archive) and a Haynes manual - however I'm a complete novice and can't decide what to do next! (after changing the inline fuel filter if you've seen my earlier post)

So, the problem (Hopefully I'll describe it well enough for someone to say "Oh, that's... you just need to..." but in reality I suspect not!):
- It started with it sometimes, but not very often, cutting out under braking with the oil light and battery light coming on on the dash simultaneously, this happens both from cold and when the engine is warm (I've also noticed the oil light flickers very occasionally at other times). It has always started back up immediately when this happens and carried on running... as an intermittent problem I'd just accepted this as a "quirk".

- Since last weekend there is what feels like the engine is being starved of fuel at times throughout the entire range until it gets to cruising speed (about 60-65mph). Is this what people mean when they say their engine is running lumpy?

- I changed the fuel filter (putting it on the right way having taken the old one off which had the flow arrow going in the wrong direction)