Syncro Travel Advice

Syncro 4&4 Discussion and Q&A last answered over 2 years ago.
You may also want to visit the Wiki(pedia) for a more structured index of T25 repair, maintenance, technical and ownership topics (browse for Syncro links)

You can find further syncro specific information on the Syncronauts website.

Moderators: User administrators, Moderators

bikermike87
80-90 Mem No: 7559

Syncro Travel Advice

Post by bikermike87 »

Hello!

So, despite being on my second syncro, I'm no closer to being an experienced owner.

I'm after some Winter Driving / Travel advice...

My good lady turns 30 at the end of March and we have spoken about going to Europe in the new van to celebrate. (Van was Hutch's 16" multivan conversion, with EJ25 Subaru).

I have ideas about driving to Geneva then head for a ski resort or even the Arctic circle in Norway, but I have little experience of driving in these sorts of conditions, here are some of my concerns;

Tyres & Chains: I have A/T's with M+S logo on them. So not proper winter tyres. Should I be getting proper winter tyres fitted? Chains, I'm guessing some places specify, but this will be at the End of March / Start of April, so do we need them? Do all tyres need to be the same make?

Propex / Eber : I'm thinking a petrol eber, to save space.

Coolant: Change this and make sure it's suitable for lower winter temps

Night time engine heating: I remember reading MickeyFin pluggin his van in at night in Norway. Do I need to fit something? Leave engine running? Get hook up and put a heater under the engine?

Recovery gear and experience: Tow rope? Waffle boards? Hoist? Spade? Should I be driving alone?

Oil pressures: what happens on hills at altitude, should I be worried?

Thermal screens and good sleeping bags: I have 4 season bags, need to check temp range though.

Driving ability! : I have no idea how good / bad I am. Never been green laning in a syncro, just gone across sandy beaches and muddy fields. Should I be worried?