An MPG conundrum

Post it here, if it doesn't fit any of the above.

Moderators: User administrators, Moderators

Hasis
80-90 Mem No: 0

An MPG conundrum

Post by Hasis »

Okay, time to introduce myself properly

I'm a newbie here as I have recently become the [very] proud owner of a rather fetching cherry'n cream '82 CU engined Devon Moonraker. Did I say I was proud?

Anyway, I've just calculated my mpg from the first 3 fills and it's...18mpg!!

Now, I'm a card-carrying greenie fer'chrissake, I can't live with that! So what's your advice?

Will a twiddle with the carbs work wonders, or [more likely I fear] should I be thinking of LPG or an AGG conversion?

As she is, the engine starts first turn, runs smooth and gets to 50-55mph in a sluggish but otherwise rather endearingly relaxed fashion and apart from slightly crusty exhaust components and some minor drippage from the push-rod housings [?? NB. I'm no mechanic] I'm really, really, enjoying driving her

I know there is stacks of advice hereabouts, but I'd really appreciate some rehashing here of how I might avoid the need to take out a 2nd mortgage just to keep on the road.

NB. this is our only vehicle, but I reckon we'll be maxing out at 7500 miles per year...if we can afford to that is

Thnx in anticipation

Hugh
-------------------------
1982 CU Devon Moonraker

silverbullet
Trader
80-90 Mem No: 6908

Re: An MPG conundrum

Post by silverbullet »

Going Aircooled to water cooled is no small undertaking, if the experiences of others are much to go by. The cooling systems always seem to be a poor compromise unless going the full monty (panel replacement up front, coolant pipes are £££) and the entire heater system will have to be changed...it looks like it goes on a bit.
Had a look at VWKD.com? Probably better off going for lpg and accepting that's as good as it's going to get.