Winterising

The Tardis factor (interiors, awnings, roofs etc)

Moderators: User administrators, Moderators

Piratepete
80-90 Mem No: 17272

Winterising

Post by Piratepete »

Newbie here with a 1990 2.1DJ Holdsworth Villa 3 PopTop.

Previous owner had a garage - I don't have that luxury.

1. He's given me a breathable caravan cover. Does the van have to be dry before I fit it? Fat chance at the moment!

2. Do you remove all cushions to a drier place? Drain the water tank? What else?

3. The drain holes from the baggage area at the front of the fixed roof have been blocked up by a previous owner (over 7 years ago), I guess for good reason. This means that this area is often full of water :cry: Where did they drain to? Into the body? Was there an issue with rust?

Cheers!
Pete

irishkeet
Trader
80-90 Mem No: 2322

Re: Winterising

Post by irishkeet »

not a fan of covers, wax & drive :mrgreen:
------------------------
1985 Doka 1.9 DG 4 Speed Box
---
1986 Fakefalia Syncro Subaru EJ25

kevtherev
80-90 Mem No: 2264

Post by kevtherev »

Me neither..
Use carnuba wax for weather protection.
Expect some trouble after long lay up.
Noisy tappets, earth faults, electrical faults, seized calipers etc.
These old ladies were designed to be workers not shirkers.
AGG 2.0L 8V. (Golf GTi MkIII)

moggymorgan
80-90 Mem No: 7655

Post by moggymorgan »

chock the wheels and leave the hand brake off. put some of those cheap damp traps inside.
john & jenny
1979, cu devon.

HansT
80-90 Mem No: 0

Post by HansT »

If you're not driving it regularly, at least disconnect the battery(ies). Ideally bring batts indoors and put on charge with an automatic / intelligent charger from time to time.
Do a full cooling system flush and replace the coolant - important for corrosion protection. See the Wiki for details.
But do use it - winter can be a fantastic time to get out to all those crowded summer tourist spots, quieter now, and enjoy a mug of something hot when you get back to the van.