Some Headlight questions.. and Covkid Q

An alchemy of sparks, copper wire and earth

Moderators: User administrators, Moderators

joshb
80-90 Mem No: 4419

Some Headlight questions.. and Covkid Q

Post by joshb »

does anyone know how many amps the the headlight draw? I have wiki'd and searched..i was going to do the relay upgrade on my '88 camper but i couldnt find the relay referred to with the 56b connector on my fuse box.. i can clearly see the fuses for the dip and main beam but no relay i am supposed to disconnect wires from in order to new relays to.. any help greatly appreciated,, thanks

Covkid- when i searched I read you had installed a headlight booster, have you/could you put a multimeter on the output to see how many volts it supplies to the bulb ( I may have a cunning plan)
Looking for a new van running on LPG

ELVIS
Trader
80-90 Mem No: 3111

Post by ELVIS »

before we start , i am NO electrician - all i know about electickery is it hurts if you lick it.

I followed what appears to be the most common route on thesamba. Very easy , costs less than a tenner and takes less than half an hour.

You need 2 x boggo standard spotlight type relays (they have 85/86/87/30 terminals) . open the glovebox up and find main wiring loom. seperate it and identify the biggest/fattest white wire and also a yellow one. they are obvious when you find em.

Break into these and wire as per following thread

http://www.thesamba.com/vw/forum/viewto ... sc&start=0

No fiddling with fuse box involved.

Difference is HOOOOOOGE . I have also fitted some of these +50% xenon/halogen bulb things that made it even better!

joshb

Post by joshb »

thanks Elvis.. I take it it is the post by fuzzymath i need to follow.. i was driving home last night and it was so crap in the p1ssing rain and dark quite scary down the back roads

ELVIS
Trader

Post by ELVIS »