New Leisure Wiring - Asking For Your Experience and Advice

An alchemy of sparks, copper wire and earth

Moderators: User administrators, Moderators

oli8925
80-90 Mem No: 0

New Leisure Wiring - Asking For Your Experience and Advice

Post by oli8925 »

Hi everyone,

As per title I'm putting together the plans to wire in a completely new leisure loom. This is my first time wiring up a leisure system, a camper and a T25 so putting my current plans and questions in a thread in case anyone with more experience needs to set me straight before I dive in. Apologies in advance for the typed version of verbal diarrhoea...

The base van is a RHD 1988 Autosleeper Trooper. It's a diesel so starter battery is in the engine compartment and we plan to put a leisure battery under the driver's seat.

My first query is how have people who have done this routed the cabling? Due to space requirements I can't bring anything out at the back of the seat box into the living area. I have a swivel seat and due to neatness I don't want to come out of the top. There's such limited space the only solution I can see is to go through the bottom under the van (there are two existing plugs in the floor which I guess are for factory petrol starter battery wiring?) and bring it up somewhere behind the units, avoiding the heater and it's exhaust etc. The other major cable that will need to come from the leisure battery is power for the sound system amplifiers, but it won't be a particularly powerful system so I should be able to sort that without too much pain.