heater motor replacement

An alchemy of sparks, copper wire and earth

Moderators: User administrators, Moderators

merckxfan
80-90 Mem No: 0

heater motor replacement

Post by merckxfan »

Afternoon all, I'm about to try and replace the heater motor in my 84 camper, I've been doing a bit of reading on the site and the wiki section and just wondered before I start has anyone got any positive experiences associated with this job?.
All I can find is tales of woe, and to be honest it's left me with a feeling of impending doom!, I'm not very experienced with working on cars in general, so am I foolish to attempt this repair?.
So, if anyone has some words of wisdom or upbeat anecdotes on the subject it'd be great to hear them :D . cheers Matt

Dazco
80-90 Mem No: 10544
Location: Sheffield. 1984 autosleeper trooper. 1.9 petrol called Jambo

Re: heater motor replacement

Post by Dazco »

It's a dashboard out job which sounds very complex and must be a daunting prospect.
Look in the wiki and there Is a "how to do it " page on this job.
http://wiki.club8090.co.uk/index.php/In ... rd_removal" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Take your time and label everything when you disconnect it. Take digi pictures as you are doing it. Be methodical and you shouldn't have a problem. Being an earlyish van the heater case might be clipped together which makes motor change a lot easier .
Go for it :ok
Auto sleeper fitted with EJ 20 subaru lump

Smcknighty
80-90 Mem No: 14436

Post by Smcknighty »

It's not that hard - if you can master Lego you can do this. It's the same concept but with vaguer instructions

Smcknighty

Post by Smcknighty »

And when you get stuck post some pictures

CovKid
Trader
80-90 Mem No: 3529

Post by CovKid »