Rock and roll bed and seatbelts

Thin bits of metal and bright blue light. Including glass & trim.

Moderators: User administrators, Moderators

RichK213
80-90 Mem No: 17598

Rock and roll bed and seatbelts

Post by RichK213 »

Hello all, i am new to the T25 world, having just bought my first camper! have been out for one trip, and really enjoyed it (as did my 7yo and 5yo).  we bought a 1990 Autosleeper, all seems to work, but just finding out what each button does and chasing wires. I have a quick question regarding the rock and roll bed and seatbelts.  I have seen the brickwerks 3 point kit which looks ideal, but i believe is out of stock. I have also seen that the upright of the rear seat is held in with flimsy locks to hold it in place. I am not too sure about this and having kids in the back.
So i am looking for advice on rear seatbelts (have seen numerous posts on here - but unsure what to do without the brickwerks kit), and also looking for advice on replacing the rear seat with a metal framed rock and roll bed (there are a good few on the market), but its finding one that is suitable for 3 point seat belts.

any advice would be great

cheers

Rich

AngeloEvs
80-90 Mem No: 4709

Re: Rock and roll bed and seatbelts

Post by AngeloEvs »

Some T25’s such as the Caravelle have the seat belt fittings already in place but converted vans will need the strengthening plates with the captive nuts fitted. Since the three point belts are mounted to the chassis, both the passenger and the folding seats are restrained. I don’t think that the folding seat would have enough mass to undermine the restraint ability of the seat belt but no one has ever crash tested that set up. With a steel framed RnR bed the frame can be used to anchor the lap part of the belt but it still requires installation of the frame with strengthening plates to the chassis.