Fitting new brake discs

Big lumps of metals and spanners. Including servicing and fluids.

Moderators: User administrators, Moderators

NathanW
80-90 Mem No: 0

Fitting new brake discs

Post by NathanW »

Hi all, I need to fit new discs to my camper due to one being warped and giving me a juddering brake pedal. I’ve never done anything like this before but really want to do everything on this van myself.

So far I’ve got the discs, pads, wheel bearings. Is there anything else I should be changing at the same time(callipers are new)? Or any tools I could get that would make this easier?

Thanks for looking.

colinthefox
80-90 Mem No: 16447

Re: Fitting new brake discs

Post by colinthefox »

Take a look at the back plates. If they are in poor condition, it's the ideal opportunity to replace them while you've got everything off. Also check that the small square drive hole for the speedo cable in the nearside bearing cap is still nice and square. If it is worn and won't grip the speedo cable properly, the hole can be repaired.

There's an oil seal that will need replacing, but I think that comes in the bearing kit.
1.9D (AEF) pop-top. Aaaaahhhhh........that's better.

NathanW

Post by NathanW »

colinthefox wrote: 27 Sep 2020, 08:44 Take a look at the back plates. If they are in poor condition, it's the ideal opportunity to replace them while you've got everything off. Also check that the small square drive hole for the speedo cable in the nearside bearing cap is still nice and square. If it is worn and won't grip the speedo cable properly, the hole can be repaired.

There's an oil seal that will need replacing, but I think that comes in the bearing kit.

Thanks! I totally forgot about the back plates. They are looking a bit worse for wear so I’ll get some on order. Will keep an eye out on the Speedo cable hole. I guessing there’s a problem with it as the Speedo needle flickers a bit on speeds up to 30mph, wasn’t sure if that was the discs causing it.

jamesakers