A Numpty and his 2.1 Project

Big lumps of metals and spanners. Including servicing and fluids.

Moderators: User administrators, Moderators

Stesaw
80-90 Mem No: 17004

Post by Stesaw »

So, been eyeing up a 2.1dj for a while.. there is nothing wrong with the 1.9dg I have but I want a bit more oomph.
So was looking around on fleabay and one popped up. It was in a Beetle that was being parted out, was assured the engine ran fine and was complete. So agreed on a price and on Monday I went and picked up a "complete" (might not be so complete) 2.1 with all the wiring. 

Just an FYI, No I am not a mechanic or have expert knowledge of these engines so there's gonna be questions that may seem daft to the knowledgable. It's a learning experience for me and this will either help people make a choice to do this themselves..or not  :lol:

For funzies I will put the breakdown cost here of everything i've needed to order, will update this as I go.

£750 DJ Engine
£35.63 Facet Low Pressure Electric Fuel pump (carb running, may go injection not 100% decided)
£2.95 Rocker Cover Gaskets
£464 New Cam with Adapter, Oil Pump, Piston Rings, two second hand DJ pistons, one Jug/sleeve and new woodruff keys 
£75.60 New set of Lifters
£76.25 Full Engine Gasket Set.
£69.13 Pushrod Tube Set
£118.29 New set of VW NOS Con Rods
£20.79 New Timing Gear
£13.54 Cam Bearings Double Thrust
£14.39 Big End Bearings
£125.64 Cylinder Head Stud Set
£11.94 Piston Ring Compressor
£55.99 Impact Gun
£12.40 Bearing Puller
£9.89 Stud remover
£7.40 Snap Ring Pliers
£4.99 Circlip Pliers
£43.99 Engine Stand
£20 Barrels honed and Crank Polished.
£120 Four studs removed by local engine shop

So that comes up to about £2.052.72 aside form a few sundries like gloves and plusgas.