Pierburg Fuel Pump

Big lumps of metals and spanners. Including servicing and fluids.

Moderators: User administrators, Moderators

peteinnit
80-90 Mem No: 12410

Pierburg Fuel Pump

Post by peteinnit »

Hi all,
I've got a 2.0l Aircooled T25, which wouldn't start the other day and after spraying some easy start in the carbs, I think it's down to the pump. (It tried to start with the spray, but wouldn't continue after the easy start burnt off). After looking for a mechanical pump I have just discovered I have a Pierburg electric fuel pump. It's bolted onto a bracket on the alternator and power goes to a relay and then onto the coil. I found a replacement and am going to replace it, but wanted to ask a couple of questions if anyone knows anything about Pierburgs.

1. I've had the van for 10 years and never experienced any problems, but is this generally considered a good system.
2. Pierburg have advised me that max pressure is 5.5psi and is governed by the opening pressure of the card needle valve. Does that mean it's self regulating to whatever is required? Can I test/adjust it? I have twin Webers. They also advise that no regulator is required. Reading some posts on electric fuel pump conversions, it says to leave the pushrod in place, should that be done with the Pierburg as well? Need to check, but think it's been removed with the mech pump.
3. If the pressure is too high, could this lead to high emissions? Also on emissions, are catalytic converters available for the T25? Any other options to reduce emissions?

Hopefully replacing it will solve the problem so I can go away next month, but would like to make sure it's good in the long run. Al advice greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
Peter
T25 2.0l Aircooled CI - 1982

bigherb
80-90 Mem No: 5789

Re: Pierburg Fuel Pump

Post by bigherb »