Starter Motor? 1.6 diesel non turbo, manual

Big lumps of metals and spanners. Including servicing and fluids.

Moderators: User administrators, Moderators

Ceecee85
80-90 Mem No: 12990

Starter Motor? 1.6 diesel non turbo, manual

Post by Ceecee85 »

My van's let me down on two occasions over the past few weeks. I suspect the starter motor but I'm logging in here to hopefully help with diagnosis as I'm not too good at it.
Scenario when she doesn't work- turn the ignition key, do the little immobiliser thing so that the glow plug light comes on. Wait for glow plug light to go out, turn the key to fire up the starter- nothing. Not even a click from a solenoid. Then, on other occasions- all works fine and the engine starts. I had the RAC come out one time as we were a good few miles away from home. He said the starter battery was knackered and the van started up first time with a boost from his van. With this in mind I got a new battery. All was fine and she started properly on three consecutive occasions later that day and then didn't start on the fourth. I pushed her down a slope and bump started her with no real problem. The dash lights were all bright and the glow plugs (I have to imagine) warmed up enough for her to start- so the battery is fine(?). Now she's parked up on the drive pointing downhill for the next time I need to use her so I can roll her out and get her started if she doesn't start on the starter.
Any advice from anyone as to how I determine the starter as being at fault or what else I should consider? All ideas welcome. Thanks in advance. Steve.
Don't argue with idiots. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.
'85 1.6d

lefty67
80-90 Mem No: 11783

Re: Starter Motor? 1.6 diesel non turbo, manual

Post by lefty67 »

in emergencies I used to whack my starter motors with a hammer. Not had this problem on a t25 yet but have on a couple of other vehicles.
1.9td AAZ

T25 - an adventure before dementia

marlinowner