SDI-ASY conversion

for questions and answers about alternative power transplants on the T25, GTi, Porsche,Subaru etc, this is the place. You must register to post but anyone can read.

Moderators: User administrators, Moderators

jerrybus
80-90 Mem No: 0

SDI-ASY conversion

Post by jerrybus »

I have been thinking about transplanting an ASY 1.9 SDI engine into a JX engined bus. The JX is showing signs of terminal wear, eg excessive crank end float, oil leaks etc. I' going for the SDI as I've got a complete donor car. I've been reading many of the forums (fora?) about fitting 1Ys and more exotic motors and gather that the swap is pretty straightforward apart from the drive by wire pump and matching the loom to the bus. I would be more confident if I'd been able to find an ASY conversion. I'm not a complete novice and have tackled most jobs on T25s, but I am a bit daunted by the electrics issue. Any advice would be much appreciated. Cheers

kevtherev
80-90 Mem No: 2264

Re: SDI-ASY conversion

Post by kevtherev »

jerrybus wrote:I have been thinking about transplanting an ASY 1.9 SDI engine into a JX engined bus. The JX is showing signs of terminal wear, eg excessive crank end float, oil leaks etc. I' going for the SDI as I've got a complete donor car. I've been reading many of the forums (fora?) about fitting 1Ys and more exotic motors and gather that the swap is pretty straightforward apart from the drive by wire pump and matching the loom to the bus. I would be more confident if I'd been able to find an ASY conversion. I'm not a complete novice and have tackled most jobs on T25s, but I am a bit daunted by the electrics issue. Any advice would be much appreciated. Cheers
This bloke knows his plurals :ok
Welcome in fella. :D

you must have missed the alternative engine forum on the index page.
this post will be moved there among its friends
AGG 2.0L 8V. (Golf GTi MkIII)

jerrybus

Post by jerrybus »